Meditations on the Lord’s Prayer – Part 5 of 12

Continued here are Father Schouppe’s meditations on the Lord’s Prayer, based on the second manner of prayer taught by St. Ignatius of Loyola.

“Thy will be done”

“God is the Sovereign Master: it is just, then, that all should obey Him.”

“We discern in God a declared will, proposed to our liberty by precepts and counsels; and a will of complacency, which is manifested by effects, by events, independent of our will. We ought to obey the former, and submit to the latter.”

“May thy will which is made known to us by thy holy law, be done, and accomplished always by all men! May it be done, above all, by me!”

“How just it is, Lord, that your creatures should obey you by observing your commandments! Are you not the Master of the Universe? Who would dare, then, to resist your will and say to you: ‘I will not serve you?’ Alas! is not this what all sinners do? Have I not myself been too often guilty of this audacious insolence?”

“You are my Father: should I not lovingly obey you ? I ought to do it by obeying my parents, and all my lawful superiors: they are, Lord, your representatives, your vicars to govern me in your name and make manifest your will to me.”

“Is it your will that I should suffer, that I should undergo the severest trials? Thy will be done! Is it your will that I should be humbled, afflicted, consoled, that I should live or die? Thy will be done!”

“Is not this divine will, which is infinitely wise, always paternal and kind to us, our supreme good? Where shall we find anything better in heaven or on earth than the most holy will of the great God?”

“What a beautiful short prayer, especially in time of affliction and sickness! Is it not the one which the Saviour Himself continued to repeat during his agony in the Garden of Olives? ‘O my Father,’ said He, ‘if it be possible, let this chalice pass from me. Nevertheless, not as I will, but as thou wilt’ (Mt 26:39).”

“What else does our heavenly Father will but our sanctification? ‘Be ye holy,’ says He, ‘because I am holy’ (Lv 11:44). ‘For this is the will of God, your sanctification’ (1 Thes 4:3).”

“Thy will be done. To accomplish it well we must know it. It is necessary, then, to make ourselves acquainted with the law of God: by pious reading and meditation; by an assiduous attendance at sermons; by attention to the interior voice of God, which we call the inspirations of grace; by prayer and holy desires.”

Quotations from Francois Xavier Schouppe, An Easy Method of Meditation (Dublin: M. H. Gill and Son, 1883).

This entry was posted in Bible, Catholic, Catholicism, Christianity, Faith, Inspiration, Prayer, Religion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.