That Our Joy May Be Complete

“Providence has implanted in our hearts a great thirst for knowledge and truth, but this knowledge and this truth can only be found in Him. . . . He Himself introduces us into His admirable light. ‘In Thy light we shall see light,’ says the Psalmist. Only in His own light, and not in our light, can we see God.”

“If, then, we experience, in common with every child of Adam, an inexpressible desire for the perception of truth and the enjoyment of the beautiful, why do we not seek to satisfy it at its Source? That is, in God. The light of grace will introduce us to the light of God. In heaven He will manifest to us His own beauty, in the enjoyment of which He, with the Son and the Holy Ghost, is happy for ever and ever: that beauty which unites in itself all the possible and imaginable beauties of His works with all their wonderful diversity.”

“‘My face hath sought Thee,’ we should say with the Psalmist: ‘Thy face, O Lord, will I still seek.’”

“‘I cannot express, O my God,’ says St. Anselm, ‘how happy Thy elect will be; certainly they will rejoice according to the measure of their love, and they will love after the measure of their knowledge. But how great will be their knowledge, and how great their love! Certainly no eye has seen, nor ear heard, nor has it entered in this life into the heart of man, how much they will know, and love Thee in the world to come. I beseech Thee, O God, that I may know Thee, love Thee, rejoice in Thee; and, if I cannot do so perfectly in this life, that I may at least progress from day to day until I arrive at this perfection. Let my knowledge of Thee progress here, and be perfect there; let my love increase here, and become perfect there, that my joy may be great in hope here, and perfect in possession there. O Lord, Thou biddest and counsellest us to ask through Thy Son, and dost promise that our joy will be full. I beseech Thee, then, O true and faithful God, grant that our joy may be complete. May in the meantime my soul consider it, my tongue speak of it, my heart love it. May my spirit hunger for it, my flesh thirst for it, my whole being desire it, until I enter into the joy of the Lord.’”

Quotations from Alice Lady Lovat, The Marvels of Divine Grace: Meditations Based on the “Glories of Divine Grace” (Original Treatise by Fr. Nieremberg, S.J., Entitled “Del Aprecio y Estima de la Divina Gracia”) (London: R. & T. Washbourne, Ltd., 1917).

About SaintlySages

SaintlySages Blog and Twitter, offering the words of saints and sages for meditation and reflection. . . . SacredHymns, a blog of sacred hymns for prayer and meditation. . . . ScripturalPostscript, personal reflections on Sacred Scripture.
This entry was posted in Bible, Catholic, Christianity, Faith, Inspiration, Prayer, Religion and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.